“Released 20 years after synth-pop was left for dead and just after ‘electronica’ had been written off amid an indie-rock revival, this 2003 gem was created by Death Cab For Cutie singer Ben Gibbard, who was just hitting his stride, with EDM maestro Jimmy ‘Dntel’ Tamborello. Full of skittering fractal beats and buoyed by cameo vocals from Rilo Kiley’s Jenny Lewis, this emotional travelogue achieved a one-off perfection… A million-some copies later, it’s a blueprint for electronic pop”–ROLLING STONE “The 100 Greatest Debut Albums Of All Time”

April 9, 2013) — As of its release today, Give Up (Deluxe 10th Anniversary Edition) makes every note The Postal Service ever recorded available in one handsome physical or digital package (including a including a stunning limited 3-LP edition on red, clear and white vinyl available through subpop.com and postalservicemusic.net). And tonight in Reno NV, The Postal Service live experience–Ben Gibbard and Jimmy Tamborello plus Jenny Lewis (Jenny & Johnny, Rilo Kiley and Laura Burhenn (Mynabirds, Bright Eyes)–plays the first show of its upcoming tour.

The Postal Service 2013 anniversary tour is quite possibly the single most hotly anticipated reunion of the year-selling out theaters, clubs, even amphitheaters and arenas the world over, including the Greek Theater in Berkeley, CA and New York’s Barclays Center Arena where second dates have been added by popular demand. Dates that have already completely sold out-in addition to the aforementioned first nights in New York and Berkeley-now include London, Manchester, Las Vegas, Detroit, Atlanta, Reno NV, Davis CA, San Luis Obispo CA, Pomona CA, Boise ID, Orlando FL, Kansas City MO, Columbus OH, and more to come.

The Postal Service has also confirmed that Ra Ra Riot, Mates Of State and Big Freedia will support on various dates.

The Postal Service 10th anniversary dates reunite Postal Service principals Gibbard and Tamborello with Lewis, who appeared on the original 2003 album and tour. Lewis also sings on the two new songs on Give Up (Deluxe 10th Anniversary Edition). Laura Burhenn (Mynabirds, Bright Eyes) rounds out the 2013 touring lineup.

THE POSTAL SERVICE
Live 2013

04/09/13 Tue – Reno NV @ Grand Sierra Theatre (SOLD OUT) *
04/10/13 Wed – Davis CA @ Mondavi Center (SOLD OUT) *
04/12/13 Fri – San Luis Obispo CA @ Madonna Expo Center (SOLD OUT) *
04/13/13 Sat – Indio CA @ Coachella (SOLD OUT)
04/15/13 Mon – Pomona CA @ Fox Theater (SOLD OUT) *
04/18/13 Thu – Phoenix AZ @ Comerica Theatre **
04/19/13 Fri – Las Vegas NV @ Chelsea Ballroom at the Cosmopolitan (SOLD OUT)**
04/20/13 Sat – Indio CA @ Coachella (SOLD OUT)
05/18/13 Sat – Manchester UK @ Academy (SOLD OUT) ***
05/19/13 Sun – London UK @ Brixton Academy (SOLD OUT) ***
05/20/13 Mon – London UK @ Brixton Academy (SOLD OUT) ***
05/21/13 Tues – Paris FR @ Trianon ***
05/23/13 Thu – Barcelona SP @ Primavera Sound 2013
05/27/13 Mon – Sasquatch Music Festival, George, WA (SOLD OUT)
05/28/13 Tues – Boise ID @ Knitting Factory (SOLD OUT) *
05/29/13 Weds – Magna UT @ Saltair *
05/30/13 Thu – Morrison CO @ Red Rocks Amphitheater +
06/01/13 Sat – Houston TX @ Free Press Summer Fest
06/02/13 Sun – Cedar Park TX @ Cedar Park +
06/03/13 Mon – Grand Prairie TX @ Verizon Theater +
06/05/13 Wed – Orlando FL @ Hard Rock Live (SOLD OUT) +
06/06/13 Thu – Atlanta GA @ Fox Theater (SOLD OUT) +
06/07/13 Fri – Raleigh NC @ Red Hat Amphitheater +
06/08/13 Sat – Columbus OH @ LC Pavilion (SOLD OUT)
06/10/13 Mon – Detroit MI @ Fillmore Detroit (SOLD OUT) +
06/11/13 Tues – Toronto ON @ Air Canada Centre #
06/12/13 Wed – Boston MA @ Bank of America Pavilion #
06/14/13 Fri – New York NY @ Barclays Center (SOLD OUT) #
06/15/13 Sat – New York NY @ Barclays Center +
06/17/13 Mon – Philadelphia PA @ Mann Center for the Performing Arts +
06/18/13 Tue – Columbia MD @ Merriweather Post Pavilion +
07/16/13 Tues – Vancouver BC @ Rogers Arena %
07/17/13 Wed – Portland OR @ Rose Garden Arena %
07/26/13 Fri – Berkeley CA @ Greek Theater (SOLD OUT) %
07/27/13 Sat – Berkeley CA @ Greek Theater
07/30/13 Tues – Kansas City MO @ Midland Theater #
07/31/13 Wed – Kansas City MO @ Midland Theater (SOLD OUT) #
08/02/13 Fri – St. Paul MN @ Roy Wilkins Auditorium #
08/03/13 Sat — Chicago IL @ Lollapalooza

Share.

About Author

Comments are closed.

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap