“The Comedy Awards” Announces Best Viral Original to be Voted on by YouTube Users on the “Comedy Awards” Page on YouTube; 2012 Digital Categories and Nominations Announced Including Best Comedy App, Best Comedy Podcast, Best Remix, Mash-Up or Supercut and Funniest Person on Twitter

Best Viral Original To Be Voted On By YouTube Users at www.youtube.com/ComedyAwards
Fan Voting For All Other Categories Begins Today at www.thecomedyawards.com
Television Event Honoring The Best In Comedy Tapes at New York City’s Hammerstein Ballroom on Saturday, April 28 and Premieres on COMEDY CENTRAL on Sunday, May 6

NEW YORK, March 26, 2012 /PRNewswire/ — The best in digital comedy is celebrated and honored as the digital nominations for the second annual “The Comedy Awards” were announced today, recognizing the outstanding work available every day in the world of digital comedy.

“The Comedy Awards” today launched a dedicated page on YouTube (www.youtube.com/ComedyAwards) to exclusively host the nominees and voting for Best Viral Original, where fans can watch all of the contenders and vote for their favorite. Voting begins today and is open through April 8. The nominees in this category are: “Between Two Ferns with Zach Galifianakis: Will Ferrell,” “Drive Recklessly,” “7 Minutes in Heaven With Mike O’Brien: Kristen Wiig,” “Shit Girls Say” and “Songify This: Winning – a Song by Charlie Sheen.”

Also starting today, fans are encouraged to visit www.thecomedyawards.com to vote for their digital favorites in categories including Best Comedy App, Best Comedy Podcast, Best Remix, Mash-up or Supercut and Funniest Person on Twitter. Voting for these categories will be open through Sunday, May 6, when “The Comedy Awards” premieres on COMEDY CENTRAL. A full list of digital nominations for the 2012 “Comedy Awards” can be found at the end of this release.

“The Comedy Awards” will take place at New York City’s Hammerstein Ballroom on Saturday, April 28 and premiere on COMEDY CENTRAL on Sunday, May 6. “The Comedy Awards” will also air on COMEDY CENTRAL’s international channels across Europe, New Zealand, India, Israel and Africa.

“The Comedy Awards” is led by its Board of Directors which include such luminaries as: Carol Burnett, James Burrows, Greg Cavic, Stephen Colbert, James Dixon, Budd Friedman, Jim Gosnell, Rick Greenstein, Brad Grey, Caroline Hirsch, Sharon Jackson, Blair Kohan, Martin Lesak, Steve Levine, Jamie Masada, Adam McKay, Jimmy Miller, Conan O’Brien, Peter Principato, Joan Rivers, Jay Roach, Chris Rock, Ray Romano, Rory Rosegarten, Michael Rotenberg, George Schlatter, Mitzi Shore, David Steinberg, Jon Stewart, Lily Tomlin, Sandy Wernick and Geof Wills.

“The Comedy Awards” has once again joined forces with the Entertainment Industry Foundation (EIF) to endow The American Comedy Fund. Without a union or other protection, many comedians face unique challenges to succeed and survive. The Fund provides much-needed financial assistance, health benefits and other resources for comedians across the country during times of need, crisis or transition. The American Comedy Fund is administered by EIF in collaboration with the Motion Picture & Television Fund and The Actors Fund.

A full list of previously announced nominees for the 2012 “The Comedy Awards” and more information about the show and its prestigious Board of Directors can be found at www.thecomedyawards.com. “Modern Family,” Bridesmaids,” “30 Rock,” “Crazy, Stupid, Love.” and Louis C.K. lead the nominations and fans can vote for “Breakout Performer of the Year.” Last week Robin Williams was announced as the recipient of the prestigious “Stand-Up Icon” award which will be presented to him during this year’s ceremonies. Click here to view a highlight reel from last year’s show. Follow “The Comedy Awards” on Twitter @TheComedyAwards.

Don Mischer, Casey Patterson, EVP, Event Production, Viacom Entertainment Group and Charlie Haykel are the Executive Producers. Juliane Hare is Producer. Beth McCarthy Miller, the Peabody and DGA Award-winning and Emmy-nominated Director, will once again direct “The Comedy Awards.” “The American Comedy Awards” were originally created by George Schlatter.


Between Two Ferns with Zach Galifianakis: Will Ferrell
Drive Recklessly
7 Minutes in Heaven With Mike O’Brien: Kristen Wiig
Shit Girls Say
Songify This: Winning – a Song by Charlie Sheen

Robert Kelly Live
The Onion
WTF with Marc Maron

Comedy Bang Bang: The Podcast
How Was Your Week with Julie Klausner
Sklarbro Country
The Nerdist
WTF with Marc Maron

The Crazy Nastyass Honey Badger
“Michele Bachmann”: a BLR Soundbite
Tom Selleck’s Moustache

Aziz Ansari
Stephen Colbert
Rob Delaney
Jimmy Fallon
Kevin Hart
Mindy Kaling
Steve Martin
Patton Oswalt
Sarah Silverman
Daniel Tosh


About Author

Comments are closed.

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap